A post worth sharing

I haven’t posted in a while. Sometimes I experience a type of writer’s block that can only be described as overwhelmed. Too many emotions, feelings, questions and more to form a thought nevertheless write any down. Today as I was reluctantly scrolling through my FB feed I ran across this article. One of PC’s friend’s posted it.

Warning: This post is mostly about a woman’s period.

I love PC’s friends. And when I mention his friend’s and I don’t refer to them as “our” friend’s, I am talking about his co-workers. They are amazing people. Each and every one of them. They consider him family, and me as well just for being married to him. The personalities range from introvert to extrovert to there is no label for this dude (or dudette)!

The friend that posted the article I have linked below is one of the first I met from PC’s work. He made a great first impression and I think he is a great influence on my hubs. Plus his two kiddos are so freakin’ cute I can hardly take it.

It is a lengthy post but amazing. It’s about “periods” but from a man’s point of view. Do not assume this guy is just trying to be funny or is explaining his significant other’s experiences. Take my word for it, he is not just making an educated guess about what life is like for us women. He had a medical experience that, I believe, changed his life!

Ladies, please read and share with anyone you know. Maybe, just maybe if more men can read this they will understand just a tiny bit more about what it’s like to be a woman. Share or read it to your hubbys or adult sons, and with your friend’s so they can do the same.

Click here to read this man’s post….

I actually feel kind of guilty after reading this and some of the comments he received from women. I didn’t start until I was 18 years old. And even then, it only lasted a couple of day, was very light and didn’t occur every month. The pms on the other hand…..well I thought every girl felt as debilitated as I did. I had no idea what I was experiencing was not the norm and would eventually lead me to where I am today…childless, in constant pain, feeling like death once a month (almost) for longer than my actual flow and considering a hysterectomy.

I could relate to most of what he wrote mainly because I have always had to rely on pads. I am so light that tampons are not a possibility for me. My first gyn actually warned me they could easily get “Stuck” and I might need emergency medical attention to have it removed. That was all I needed to hear. I already had a very full plate for someone my age and certainly was not willing to risk needing an ER visit that I couldn’t afford to have my tampon removed! Can you even imagine??

So is this guy brave for sharing his personal medical experience?

Do you have a man in your life that would have handled his experience in a similar way?

In terms of the article I posted….I have the best hubby ever. I doubt he has ever spent one second feeling embarrassed buying me products. I am thankful for his support during that time of month. Add the emotions/grief (etc) that most of us in the IF circle experience at that time and now you know why I refer to him as PC = Prince Charming. He has always handled it like a boss.. Even before we found out there was a medical reason for my abnormal symptoms and suffering.

I hope you all have a fantabulous weekend.

Much Love To All!

3 responses to “A post worth sharing

  1. Just a thought to share: my periods are incredibly light for another reason. I sometimes put a tampon in and 10 hours later take it out and it has nothing on it. I have never, ever had issues with one getting stuck (?!?) and have never heard of such a thing. If you have a different medical professional whom you see, I would ask them about what you were told on your next visit. A light cycle does not mean a life of pads. Just had to share 😀

    • Actually, that was my thought as well. Now, I bleed like a stuck pig but I don’t know any women who use a pad during their spotting days if they don’t wear them all period long. They just buy “light” day tampons and change them as needed. There is a limit of 8 hours… but many, many women wear them overnight and sleep longer than that.

      Having said that, I tried to click through to the second page of that article and got a false security popup download. So there is some type of virus/malware associated with the site.

      • Thanks for the comments. I think it might be a little late for me to consider since my gyn is ready for me to have my hysterectomy. Lol. I have had the same thoughts in the past but I’m telling you I have nver seen a tampon small enough that I felt safe using it. Sometimes I have what my gyn calls “no flow” periods. I won;t go into the details but look it up if you like. As for the website….Dagnabbit!! I will check on that. I’m sorry to have put your computer at risk! Thank you so much for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

