It started 20 years ago.

llap

There was this boy in high school.

He was the smart kind.

He was popular.

He was the “weirdo” standing in the rain because he gave his jacket to one of the girls who didn’t have one.

He was a geek.

He noticed.

He was noticed.

He was kind, funny, interesting and fun.

That boy introduced me to Star Trek, Star Wars and much more. Boys like to teach girls stuff. That is the stuff I let this boy teach me. The purpose of the death star, the crew on starship Enterprise.

That was 20 years ago, give or take.

I married that boy. Not right away (I’m rather hard headed) but I did.

To this day, I can see the pure joy/pride on his face when I make some sort of Star Trek reference.

We just learned this week, that my uncle is selling his family business.That business meant something to us, to PC and I. And not in a business way. We have memories there, trips we took to this place before we were even dating. We were sad to hear my uncle was selling this place we have so many good memories in.

I’m sure the passing of Leonard Nimoy isn’t such a big deal for most people but for us it kinda is. For us, it’s very similar to how we feel about the family business. We have great memories that revolve around this show, around Mr. Nimoy’s character. PC hasn’t heard about this yet. I have to break the news to him this evening. I know he will be sad. Maybe it just reminds us of our age. Or of the good times, ya know before all this grown-up responsibility crap.

It’s how we started.

Rest ever so peacefully Commander Spock! LLAP!

Much Love To All!

Leave a Reply

