My replacement students

IMAG0647

What is that??? That’s a good question. This is one of my beginning pics of the Valentine’s Day ice cream cone cupcakes I made for PC and his co-workers. This is the first time I have ever made them and I think they turned out pretty darn good. It was actually a fun project. I used red velvet cake mix for the cupcakes and mini cones. Sooo cute…

IMAG0648

Once the cupcakes were ready for icing I put them in a plastic cup. This is how I planned on wrapping them. I found it easier to apply the icing while they were in the cups. I know you can’t tell from this picture but I tried to make the icing look as much like ice cream as I could. Some of them turned out better than others. I also added some M$M’s at the bottom of the cup. Not under the cone but around it.

IMAG0653

Here is the finished product out of it’s cup.

Kinda looks like an ice cream cone to me….

IMAG0654

The wrapping part was more difficult than I had anticipated. Only because the cute little gift bags I bought were not quite big enough for the cups. The were tall enough, which happens to be the only thing I checked when I bought them. They just weren’t round enough. So I improvised. I cut one of the sides off each and every bag and then cut the bottoms off too. They were no longer bags but rather decorative little square gift bag material thingys. I placed one over each cup and tied it in place with ribbon. I also added bright red sprinkles on the icing  before the wrapping but neglected to get a picture of that.

I enjoyed this project more than I thought I would. Not because I like baking. But because I like spoiling the people I care about. I made these for PC and his co-workers. They are more than that though. Most of them are his friends, genuinely. He has the pleasure of working in the field he loves and excels at…computers. So naturally him and his co-workers have a lot in common. They are geeks and proud of it. I guess I am too. I wouldn’t have it any other way. These people are amazing, caring, smart and team players! They are my replacement students. While teaching, I did many things I didn’t have to. The extra projects, millions of die cuts (I cut myself!!!), birthday treats for each student and so much more. All GOOD teachers go above and beyond with no desire for the credit! And I only taught pre-k! Can you imagine what elementary teachers do? Anyhow, PC and his friends are my new students, so I will continue to make something special for holidays and occasions because they deserve to be appreciated. I miss having a class of children to take care of but these guys will do for now. 🙂

Much Love To All!

Leave a Reply

