Has Anyone Told You???

 

test I truly believe this is what my body thinks of this process.  Although PC and I aren’t technically ttc anymore I still test for precaution. With my life history it will happen when we stop trying. Also, my body has always done the opposite of what it should be doing or can be explained. Anyhow, in addition to testing, I am still on the hunt for answers. I have to know why. I may never know but I have to try to figure it out. I have an appt next week with a new gyn. I decided until then I will get back to doing my own research. Here are some things I have learned in the past few days, from the internet, books, and my own records.

  • I have lab results here from my RE that says DIAGNOSIS: 627.2 (Symptomatic Menopausal or Female Climacteric State) WHA??????????? I am praying this is just the reason for the blood work and not the diagnosis based on what they already know about my health! I looked up these words and they basically mean the very beginning of pre-menopause. I will be asking more questions about that paper for sure.
  • One of my bills from this RE says I owe $160 for 2 tests I had done. The tests are called SPERM AB. After looking this up I can only determine they were testing my “stuff” for reactions to sperm. PC was never tested. How come I wasn’t aware of this test? I can only imagine the lab results looked promising or they would have told me. Right?!?!
  • Many women can FEEL ovulation. I realized I can!! I used to tell PC (and drs) that my pms starts well before my period. I get a pain on the side of my abdomen. Not horrible but pretty uncomfortable and certainly annoying. Others “signs” of ovulation include change in bbt, change in cervical position, change in cervical mucus (egg whites = ovulating/near ovulation) light spotting, breast tenderness, bloating, increased sex drive, and heightened sense of smell, taste or vision. Why did I NOT know this already!!???? I feel all of those. And if this is all true, why would my gyn tell me she doesn’t believe I have ever ovulated before? I have told her about all of my symptoms. So frustrating!
  • YOU CAN HAVE “NORMAL” PERIODS AND OVULATE AND STILL NOT CONCEIVE. I did not realize this either. Maybe I should have known but never connected the dots between doctors. As soon as I realized this, I dug deeper on the interweb and found info on a condition called “lutenized unruptured follicle syndrome”. (luf syndrome) This is where the follicle begins to lutenize without ever releasing an egg, and therefore producing progesterone which docs will see in your blood work (LH) and that leads them to believe you have ovulated. But you didn’t! Research shows that up to 50% of people with ‘unexplained infertility’ have this. From what I can tell it is possible that while this syndrome may not cause endo, it is commonly linked to it or the result of it. Please look this up if you still have questions about your IF. I am no doctor and if you find any of my info to be incorrect I beg for you to let me know! I will be confirming this info with my new doctor. 
  • IODINE!! This is a substance that the body does not make on it’s own but needs for many reasons. It used to be in many foods but was thought to be harmful so it was replaced with other things like bromine, fluorine, chlorine, perchlorate in food, water, medicines

    and the environment.  Fun fact: Iodine in wheat has been replaced with Bromine, the gas used to fumigate your house for termites!] Some of the symptoms iodine deficiency are brittle nails, cold hands and feet, cold intolerance, depression, difficulty swallowing, dry skin, dry hair or hair loss, fatigue, high cholesterol, hoarseness, infertility, miscarriage, lethargy, menstrual irregularities, early menopause, poor memory or concentration, slower heartbeat, throat pain and weight gain. Also there is currently a lot of research still going on because iodine deficiency is thought to be linked to thyroid disease, breast cancer, fibrocystic breast disease, prostate cancer, and obesity — plus developmental delays and mental retardation in children! I about fell out of my chair when I read this! I found a forum where a lady claims that taking an iodine supplement (UNDER HER DR’S SUPERVISION) cured her pcos!! No more symptoms and she had a baby! I have so many of these symptoms it might as well be named after me!! If I only had a few of them I may not be interested in this possibility but fitting so well into these symptoms makes me wonder. It is very important to check with your doctor first, it is possible to have too much of this stuff. I am not a doctor and can not truly verify the validity of any info I share here. PC ordered some supplements, we will start them as soon as they arrive.                                                                                                                                                                                                          Moral of the story is: Be Informed! Don’t be afraid to ask your dr as many questions as possible, especially if you do not understand something. I know sometimes they make us feel like we have to rush through the appt but this is your life and your body. You deserve to be an active participant in every part of this journey!

Much Love to all!

 

 

3 responses to “Has Anyone Told You???

  1. So here is a tad bit of insight into 627.2 Although it says premenoposual you can also you this code for hot flashes due to medication, menopause findings (in your labs), pre-meno headaches and sleeplessness. So don’t panic about that : ) Also find out why they are billing you for the SPERM AB if you didn’t consent you could probably find a way to avoid those charges! I will keep you in my prayers.

    • Thank you for the info!! I do have the hot flashes and insomnia but I’m not on any meds at the moment. It was just a surprise to see those words on paper but have never heard them from my dr. Also, I will be calling that RE in the morning. Not only did I NOT consent to that test, I specifically asked to be treated for PCOS only! Our ins covers 0% infertility issues or treatment. We just can’t afford it right this minute. Unfortunately that is not the only bill I received from his office for infertility related tests. That is the reason I stopped seeing that dr. He didn’t care at all about my PCOS, or what I wanted, just wanted to get me pregnant! That’s a great plan if we had the money…

      • Alot of patients see the codes and they are like what I don’t have that. But I get those questions all the time. And I had a dr that was exactly like that he wanted to bill me for everything that I didn’t want, it was so frustrating. I hope you got that all squared away this morning and I wish you luck.

Leave a Reply

