Fuck you Merlin Entertainment (runs legoland discovery centers)!

I wish we could have reacted like this…

doublefacepalm

“I am not going to let this ruin our whole vacation”. I had to keep repeating this to myself yesterday afternoon. PC and I went on an amazing vacation last week. (technically we are still on vacation but at home now) We went on a road trip that included staying in these amazing wild wild west themed cabins. We stayed in the saloon. We went mining/digging for diamonds, crystals, quartz, and more. Neither of us had done anything like this before. Matter of fact, we had never had jobs that allowed much vacation time. It was gorgeous! We weren’t rushed. Our itinerary wasn’t written in stone. We literally did what we wanted, when we wanted and how we wanted. I was looking forward to getting home and blogging about our experiences on the road but then one of our last have-to-do stops went terribly wrong…

We were driving south through Texas around the Dallas area and we were very excited to visit the Discovery Lego Land in Grapevine Tx, just outside Fort Worth. I had been looking forward to this part of our vacation! Yes I am a kid at heart and always will be!! Don’t judge, please and thank you. 🙂  We had also decided this is where we would grab the souvenirs for our nieces and nephews. The places we had been throughout the trip didn’t offer the kind of stuff the kiddos in our family would have been excited to get, well not all of them anyways (due to their variable ages)

Let’s get straight to the point…. We are now standing at the counter of lego land and here’s how it went down…

Me:  2 adults please

Employee: Do you have children with you?

Me: Nope just us,  <-insert half smile, half grin, half let me in already expression.

Employee: I’m sorry, you can’t go in without a child.

Me: Stunned and speechless at this point. I thought the employee was going to cry.

Employee: I’m so sorry. I can call the manager if you want. He might be willing to walk you through part of the tour.

Me: That’s ok. Thank you.

PC grabbed my hand  and we walked out in silence. I fought back the tears as long as I could. We started walking thru the mall (where lego land is located) and found a bench to sit on for minute while we composed ourselves. And by “compose” I mean so I could cry. My heart was broken. I have been discriminated against several times in my life. Maybe discriminated isn’t the right word, maybe stereotyped/judged? I will save those details for another time. I never considered someone would turn me away, EVEN IF I AM OFFERING TO PAY FOR A SERVICE, because I have no kids. Don’t get me wrong, I completely understand this man had no clue if we had kids at home or not. Technically we weren’t turned away because we don’t have our own children, we just didn’t have them with us. But that’s not what I “heard” the second he said we couldn’t go in. I was grateful we had saved this stop for the end of the road trip. I don’t know if I would have been able to move on from that emotionally enough to enjoy the vacation. That would have been a tragedy! We never vacation and this one was indescribable!

I am angry.

I am sad.

I am motivated.

There has to be something I can do about this. I am trying to ignore my emotions long enough to think of a logical reason for why this establishment would have this restriction. I believe they have rides for the kids inside. They have to know that we understand we wouldn’t be able to ride them. I would have been willing to pay the same price as everyone else even if I wouldn’t be getting the exact same experience. They didn’t even have a gift shop available before you go into the “attraction”. So NO gifts for the kiddos in our family! If anyone on here knows something I don’t about Lego land and this rule, please let me know. I will be going to the top of the ladder with this. And soon.

Much Love.

9 responses to “Fuck you Merlin Entertainment (runs legoland discovery centers)!

  1. Let us know what you find out. My husband and I have been wanting to go to a lego land but haven’t gotten around to it. Curious to see what they say.

    • I called one of the customer service numbers this afternoon. The lady had no answers for why adults arent allowed, in fact she changed the subject every time I asked. but she did give me some more info. “Lego” doesn’t manage the discovery center (in dallas). Merlin entertainment runs it. I told her I was “concerned” because they do not say on the website (or anywhere) that adults are not permitted without children. Turns out it is on their site if you dig into the FAQs page. She also reminded me that they do have “Adult day” at this location!! It’s the last Monday of each month! I am calling the FL and CA legolands tomorrow. I am not letting this go! I am pissed! I will keep you all updated.

  2. Wow, I can’t believe they would even consider that!! I often drag my OH on days out that would probably be more suitable if we had children but no one has ever looked twice at us, let alone refused us entry! I would be kicking up a BIG stink about that.

  3. Pingback: I didn’t volunteer to ride this roller coaster! Let me off! | My Dink-ish Life

Leave a Reply

